Chapter Seven

Chapter Seven

Men in Black

The next day, I slept until eleven o’clock. I never usually sleep that late, but Emma and I had talked well past midnight. It was nice hearing about all the latest gossip back home, like how Jake’s dad got season tickets to the Steelers games. Talking to her made me homesick, and if it weren’t for Lucien, I would’ve gone crazy by now.

Dad and I had planned on going to the city during the day, until he got a call from the university, wanting him to go with the police to investigate a crime scene. Apparently, someone dug up the remains of dozens of soldiers and children near an old Mexican civil war fort. I would have liked to go to the site with him, but Dad said it was to be kept quiet.

With not much to do, I thought I’d hang out on the couch with the remote. I was just about to grab a blanket and curl up on the couch when my phone rang. It was Lexy, “Hey, Pittsburgh, do you want to cause trouble at the mall?” Lexy was chomping on something in my ear on the other end of the phone.

“Nah, my couch is calling my name, you and Dakota can hang out here if you want. It’s just me. My dad’s on a dig and won’t be home ‘til late.”

“Okay. I’ll stop and get a movie and some junk food.”

About an hour later, the three of us were watching a dumb romantic comedy and eating chips. I actually liked hanging out with the girls; it was a pleasant change.

“You guys know anything about Lucien’s family?” I asked.

“Not really, except that his parents were killed right after he and his brothers and sister were born. Rumor is they’re sextuplets.”

“Sextuplets,” I said. “He didn’t mention that to me. Hmmm…would explain why they all look alike.”

“His uncle raised them on a ranch near Roswell,” Dakota said.

“As far as I know no one’s been to his uncle’s ranch. There were rumors once that his uncle didn’t even exist because no one ever saw him,” Lexy said.

The movie ended. I started to clean up our mess when Lexy said, “I have an idea!” She jumped off the couch and screamed, “Let’s go to the fair!”

“I’d rather just hang out here,” I protested.

“Come on.” Dakota pulled my arm. “Why do you want to stay home? The night’s young, and the moon’s full.”

“Because I told my dad I’d stay home. Besides, it’s already after nine. I do have a curfew, you know,” I said trying to be forceful.

“The fair closes at midnight. What your daddy doesn’t know won’t hurt him,” jeered Lexy.

“Don’t worry. I won’t drive fast.” Lexy pulled on my arm. “I saw how you had your eyes closed last time.”

“No, I didn’t,” I said suddenly wishing I didn’t tell them to come over.

“When were you going to tell us?” Lexy unexpectedly became serious.

“Tell you what?” I scowled.

“You know what I’m talking about,” said Lexy, “about the accident.”

“Who told you?” There was a sharp edge to my voice.

“No one told me. Dakota Googled you and a couple articles came up about how a mysterious stranger pulled you out of the wreckage and called nine-one-one. The article said if it weren’t for the Good Samaritan, you’d have bled to death.”

“Did you really get charged for texting?” Dakota asked.

“Dakota, have some compassion,” Lexy said. A moment of silence passed.

I started to get sick to my stomach. I didn’t want anyone to feel sorry for me or want anyone here to treat me different.

“Just don’t be writing that on Facebook, okay?” I said, giving them both a hard look.

“I think it’s incredible someone saved you, like it was your guardian angel.” Dakota smiled from ear to ear.

“Yeah, I’m lucky.”

“Hell, yeah, now let’s go,” Lexy said.

“Come on. Lexy’s right, it’ll be fun.” Dakota nudged me.

“Okay, you two win. Let’s get out of here.” I went upstairs and put on a clean black tank top, black jeans, and a pair of boots. One good think about New Mexico: the fall months were still warm. After scrunching my hair, I put on lipstick and puckered my lips. I couldn’t help but wonder if Lucien might be there. As we left my house, Lexy asked if Ralf could come with us. I had no objections, so we hopped in Lexy’s Hummer and picked him up. Even with that side trip, we were at the fair in record time. Lexy drove like a maniac, and I snapped my wrist until it was red numb.

The sky was dark blue with amber streaks, and the smell of cotton candy and cheese fries filled the air. I loved the fair atmosphere. A slight breeze hit my arms, making me wish I had a sweater. Taking my cell phone from my pocket, I checked to see if there were any messages from Lucien, but my inbox was empty. I put it back in my pocket and tried not to feel upset.

Dakota and Lexy held hands, which made it seem like they were a couple. With no interest in joining them, Ralf and I lagged behind. Walking with him was slightly awkward, but we made the most of it.

“Where’s your boyfriend?”

“I don’t have a boyfriend,” I gasped.

“Okay.”

“He’s not my boyfriend.”

“You kept telling yourself that.”

“He’s not I like Lucien as a friend. But that’s it. We don’t even know each other all that well.”

Ralf looked at me, and then looked over his shoulder. “Not to be rude, but don’t you think his family is a little strange? I mean, come on, dude.”

“I thought you were his friend?”

“Not really. He just started back at Truman this year…I didn’t see him since, shit – maybe two years ago.”

“Really? I only met his family at the Ford Pavilion the other night. Just because they sing in a band doesn’t mean they’re strange.” I tried to defend them.

Dakota and Lexy skipped to the shooting range, so Ralf and I sat down on a bench to continue our conversation. “It’s not because they have a band,” he explained. “Did you notice how they look? They’re so alike.”

“Well, they do come from the same mother.”

“Maybe not,” said Ralf.

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“Hey, I’m just saying, you never know. He may be some sort of lab rat experiment. His uncle worked for NASA and is a professor at the UNM.”

“Really?”

“That’s the rumor. He’s a lab rat, I’m telling ya,” said Ralf. “Have you noticed his skin?”

“Oh my God have you ever looked in the mirror, dude?” I said picturing Lucien as a little rat in a maze.

“Me? I look good,” jested Ralf. “If you ask me, I think he’s, you know, a little…girly boy. He wears makeup I think.” Ralf laughed, standing up. Dakota and Lexy finished up at the shooting range.

“Okay, Mr. Masculinity.”

“You know it!” said Ralf.

“So what if he is?”

“I’m just saying.”

“Oh my God!” Dakota took my hand. “Come quick and check this out.”

Lexy took my other hand. “You’re going to love it.”

They dragged me to a booth with a lighted sign that read: ‘Fortune Teller: Enter at your own risk.’

I stopped abruptly.

Dakota shrieked. “Don’t you want to know your future?”

“Not exactly,” I said.

“If you don’t, you’re going to have to walk home Pittsburgh.” Lexy had a wicked smile.

“Don’t be a pussy.”

“Ralf! That’s gross,” snapped Dakota.

I turned to the old woman, who was wearing lots of costume jewelry with a scarf around her head, making her look like a Greek gypsy. As she smiled at me with rotten teeth, I wanted to run and hide, but I gave into my friends’ request. “Okay, okay. I’ll do it.”

I sat down at a small table while the psychic witch lit a candle. Taking my hand in hers, she turned it over to examine my palm. Lexy, Dakota, and Ralf sat next to me, never saying a word. Chickening out was my initial impulse, but I was too interested in knowing what my future held, even if it was a bunch of bullshit.

The woman held my hand and closed her eyes. Suddenly, she whispered, “Yol have seen much-a loss in yol young life.”

“Duh,” Lexy said under her breath. I caught her gaze and frowned.

I didn’t give her an answer but stared into her eyes as she continued.

“Yol have a dark-k cloud hanging ova yol, child.”

Yeah, what else is new? I already know that.

“I see’ze a light, It’s a purr-son, a boy, a mun, and his name means, he- who b-rings light and no-ledge.”

I kept looking at her, but I didn’t dare speak.

“‘Tis not good, you must not let him—what is yol name child?” the gypsy demanded.

I tried to pull my hand away, but she held it tighter.

“Samantha.”

“Samantha, he-e is much-a d-a-n-g-e-r.”

I pulled my hand free “Who? Who is much danger?”

“The mun from da light, now go!” she screamed.

I stood up fast, stumbling over the chair. Lexy, Dakota, and Ralf were laughing as we left the booth.

“Oh my, wooh hoooo the mun from the light is going to get you! You were scared shitless, Sam!” Ralf laughed.

“Shut up, asshole,” I said, walking ahead of them at a quick pace. All I wanted to do was go home.

“Sam. Don’t be mad,” Dakota said, catching up to me.

After about an hour of talking and laughing at my expense the Ferris wheel’s lights shut down. A few stragglers were left, so no one protested in heading back to the parking lot. When we got to the parking lot, there was a tall, dark figure in the distance wearing a long black trench coat. He was bald, but his face illuminated by the moonlight. He was just there, standing as if he had been waiting for us. We slowed our pace. Ralf turned to us and said, “Shhh, don’t say anything,” he hesitated, “what’s up, dude?”

“Maybe you shouldn’t have said that. He doesn’t look like the ‘what’s up dude’ kinda guy,” Lexy whispered.

The man ignored Ralf. “Samantha Hunter,” he said in a deep, throaty voice.

“Sam – do you know him?” Ralf said.

“No…”

I grabbed onto Dakota’s hand as all eyes went to me. Again, the voice in the darkness called for me. Lexy, Dakota, and Ralf turned to me at the same moment.

“Holy shit, Pittsburgh, he knows you,” Lexy said.

“Dammit Lexy my name isn’t Pittsburgh!”

“Where’s Lucien Foster,” the dark shadow demanded. When I still didn’t answer, he started to walk towards us.

“C-come on, we had better get in the car!” Ralf yelled. We all held hands, running towards the Hummer. I scrambled to get in. Before I knew it, the man was standing in front of me, blocking me from the vehicle. I looked at the Hummer. Dakota, the last to get in, slammed the door shut with a frightened stare, leaving me outside, “Dakota what the hell!” The man in the trench coat stared me down. Lexy started the Hummer and wound down the window.

“Sam, run!” Ralf yelled.

Lexy pulled the Hummer out, aiming for the man. He jumped out of the way and lifted his hand in the direction of the Hummer. The Hummer stopped right in front of him…the wheels spun like they were stuck in snow. “Sam! Run!” Lexy screamed. The man started towards me…

“What’s happening?” Lexy said struggling with the steering wheel.

“Drive, drive, step on the gas!” Ralf yelled. Lexy’s eyes locked with mine…

“I can’t, it won’t move! Sam! Run!” she screamed.

Lexy went back to trying to put the Hummer in drive.

I watched in disbelief as the Hummer’s tires spun around but didn’t go anywhere. It was as though something was holding it still, preventing it from moving. I hesitated a moment, stunned at what I was seeing, then Lexy’s voice rattled me back to my senses, and I turned and ran towards the fairgrounds.

The man began to follow me, dodging a parked car. His speed was much swifter than mine, but I ran. Suddenly, I saw the Hummer drive past me. Disoriented, I ran, trying to see where Lexy was heading. Seeing the man was right behind me, I increased my speed to a sprint. I wished I hadn’t worn my heeled boots. Almost out of the parking lot, I made my way back into the fairgrounds towards the Avenue of the Governors. I went along the avenue and around the edges of the plaza, weaving in and out of the trees that were lined. The carnival lights began to shut off one by one behind me. The dark became thicker with each step I took, making it difficult for me to see where I was going. Where were the carnie people? All I knew was that I was being chased.

I turned around to see where the stranger was but only saw shadows. I refused to stop, losing my footing. I fell. On my hands and knees, I crawled. When I heard the eerie voice behind me, something dug at my foot. I started to scream, but he jumped on top of me, turned me over, and what I saw scared me beyond belief. He had dark eyes with no whites, and jagged, pointed teeth and tattoos with strange designs all over his bald head.

I looked at him and became paralyzed with fear and stopped shrieking. The man grabbed my face and held it still. “Where’s Foster?” he said it loud, spraying his spit in my face. I closed my eyes tight and turned my face off to the side briefly.

“Where is he? Where’s the boy?” The man in black growled.

“I don’t know!” My head tossed from side to side as I struggled to free myself. The dark figure tightened his grip on my shoulders and pinned me to the ground. My breathing increased. I felt like I was going to pass out from the man’s weight.

“Samantha…,” the man said is in a hoarse, raspy growl, “There are ways to get the answer to my question.” He tightened his grip even more, leaning so close to me that I could smell him. His odor reminded me of road kill. It burned my nose, and I began to gag.

“No! Who are you? Why are you doing this?” I yelled into the darkness. The dark figure leaned in closer, “H-help! Somebody, p-please help me!” My screams were useless. Noticing a shining medallion hanging around his neck, I used my free hand to take hold of it, pulling with all of my might. I tightened my fingers around the necklace, squeezing my palm so I wouldn’t lose it.

The man took a silver, knife-like instrument from his pocket and held it at my neck. I gasped at its sight and closed my eyes tight, fearing what he might do next. His sweat dripped onto my face, burning me where it lay.

Finally…I heard sirens in the distance. Loosening his grip, the man stood and looked around momentarily before a bright light surrounded me, impairing my vision. The light vanished, and the man with it. All at once, Dakota, Ralf, and Lexy came into view, running towards me with fairground security guards.

Leave a comment